Stones, flower & small harvest

Yesterday was such a beautiful day, we all went to the plot. OH did some digging while I was preparing a section to sow carrots. Although the allotment site has been cultivated for ages (at least 20), there are so many stones on our plot. So, I ended up picking the stones out of a bed.
larva

I uncovered this larva. I think it is a leatherjacket. I wanted it to be put on the bird table, but my son didn’t want it to die. He hid it under the shed!

kalesnip

Dug up a couple of parsnips. One had a bit of orange-brown canker – I can’t remember when we last limed the bed (though had given brassicas a topdressing of dolomite lime), so that could be why. I limed yesterday a couple of the beds I am earmarking for brassicas. The Kale is probably Hungry Gap (I don’t remember if I sowed Ragged Jack though), one of the lucky dip packets received from HSL. Will be eating the parsnips & kale shortly (late Sunday dinner!).

flower08

While I was across at my mum’s, I went to check on the cacti in the greenhouse. I was amazed to see one actually in flower. Others had flowerbuds on which is earlier than normal anyway (don’t usually notice the flowerbuds until March).

Leave a comment