A few more sowings

This week, the sun has shone and it felt relatively warm during daytime. However, during the night, it became bitterly cold. With the changing temperatures, I only sowed another 6×4 module tray thing. I had potted on 3 of the 4 All the Year Round cauliflowers (one didn’t look very strong). In the vacated, I sowed 4 Tabasco chillis. In a new tray, I sowed tomatoes, 4 of each: Riesentomate; Italian Sugar Plum; Salt Spring Sunrise; Auntie Madge’s; Sub Arctic Plenty; Broad Ripple Yellow Currant.

 With going away last weekend, some of the Bedfordshire Champion onion seedlings suffered. Still have quite a few.

Some more chillis have germinated. Another 2 Friar’s Hat have, bringing that to 100% germination. Other chillis germinating are Cascabella(2), Albertos Locoto(3), Trifetti(1).

Cape gooseberries have also appeared, but I have accidentally sown a couple of additional seeds in each module at the time, so I have now 6 seedlings.  Also making an appearance is Basil Lemon with 2 seedlings. Just noticed the “hook/loop” of one aubergine emerging.

The trays are currently on the front room windowsill with a cover. I have briefly looked at heated propagators and have even bought one of the fancy non-heated ones with the vent in the cover before (present for my late-father), my current module things just have a plain cover. I don’t have convenient access to electricity out in the greenhouse either. I do have a paraffin heater but that has so far been hardly used.

Leave a comment